

Iowa FFA Association

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth**, and **career success** through agricultural education.

FFA Enrichment Center 1055 SW Prairie Trail Parkway Ankeny, IA 50023

Contact: Scott Johnson (712.790.2345)

www.iowaffa.com

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2014 IOWA FFA PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURE CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

86th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Parliamentary Procedure Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Tuesday, April 29, 2014. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese. The second place chapter for the event was the Denison FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Ms. Dana Weeda, Ms. Alise Meyers, and Mr. Tim Baughman.

Teams participating in this event were composed of five members organized to chair and act out parliamentary procedures. This event provides trained officers and informed members on the correct conduct of organization affairs with training in democratic affairs. The Parliamentary Procedure CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The Iowa FFA Association has 219 local chapters with 14,200 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 580,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Parliamentary Procedure Leadership Event.

Place 1	FFA Member Name(s) Jarod Bodensteiner, Isaac Brownell, Emily Martins, Gabby Power, and Dylan Lampe	Chapter P. O. Fairbank	Rating Gold
2	Jessica Cantu, Jacquelyn Carlson, KateLyn Blunk, Jessica Meseck, and Lucas Weller	Denison	Silver
3	Cori Bebout, J.J. Clark, Allison Fast, Paetyn Rock, and Will Mellencamp	Clarinda	Silver
	Olivia Andersen, Lindsay Black, Taylor Sandy, Mackenzie Welch, and Madison Offenburger	Chariton	Silver
	Mike Poggemiller, Adam Moehle, Mikala Denney, Keaton Keitzer, and Elizabeth Zippe	Mediapolis	Silver
	Kelsie Tomlin, Micayla Wald, Kylee Silliman, Madison McQueen, and Alex Grubbs	Oskaloosa	Silver
	Madison Deters, Justin Bartling, Austin Heitland, Reece Rieken, and Levi Stockdale	Ackley	Bronze
	Ryan Foley, Hannah Koele, Emily Meerdink, Sydney Pridie, and Cali Westergard	Akron	Bronze
	Rebecca Van Regenmorter, Grace Rens, Tyra Knoblock, Heather Moser, and Katherine Klingensmith	Inwood	Bronze
	Micaela Choate, Brandon Hanson, Peyton Williams, Jacy Nelsen, and Gared Stockwell	Iowa Falls	Bronze
	Sydney Bethards, Anthony Furlin, Paige Mitchell, Cendra Sebolt, and Karly White	Seymour	Bronze
	Darin Ney, Ethan Menne, Derek Thoms, Seth Rupprecht, and Derek Elsbernd	West Union	Bronze

Iowa FFA Association -- 3

Iowa FFA Association -- 4